Manning Up: Why The Phrase Matters And Why Feminists Should Shut Up About It

When someone is being a whiny little twit, many of us have a tendency to tell them to “man up.”  We’re telling them that they’re not acting like a man and to fix that stuff right away.

An alternative is to tell someone to “nut up,” which basically means the same thing.  “Nut” in this instance means “testicle,” which only males have.

So, a while back, I came across this pic and really had to say something about it:

man-up

First, does anyone else think it’s funny that they get some beta male FIM to pose for pics like this?

Second, it’s complete BS.

You see, while women are perfectly capable of being strong, show me a requirement that they be so.  Anywhere.  Even modern feminism, the philosophy that once told women they were strong as hell–“I am woman, hear me roar” and all that–is now a philosophy that demands women be sheltered from the harsh world through things like safe spaces.

Women don’t have to be strong, and they never have.  It’s never truly been an expectation of society that women be strong.  There are plenty who are, and there are plenty in history as well, but even if they’re the majority, so what?  If they all became weak as hell tomorrow, society would muddle on well enough.

But men?

Men have always been expected to be strong, and not just physically.  We’re the emotional rock for our families.  We’re the go-to source for strength in a myriad of ways in our society.  It’s what we are.

This pic claims that “strength is not defined by sex or gender.”  On that, it’s right.  What it misses is that while strength may not be defined by sex, one sex is defined by strength.

A weak male is not much of a man.  It doesn’t matter if his physically weak, mentally weak, or emotionally weak.  If he’s any of these things, he’s a detriment to any group he’s part of.

How do I know this?  Decades of observation for one.  For another, I’ve been that weak male.

I was never particularly mentally weak, boasting a high IQ and an interest in a myriad of fields.  Some folks refer to me as a polymath, though most polymaths would probably call me a “dabbler” instead, which is fine.  My mind has always been fairly keen.

But physically and emotionally?  I was a joke.

I graduated high school at 5’8″ and 135 lbs.  That was after several years of lifting weights regularly, which means had I not lifted, I’d have been even smaller.  For years prior to that, I was useless in lifting anything with weight.

When I was a kid, around Christmas time, my school system would place a basket by the front door of the classroom.  We’d all bring canned goods for the needy.  Just before the holiday, we’d have an assembly and two students from each class would carry the basket to the front of the auditorium to show…well, whatever we were supposed to show.

One year, I was selected to be one of the kids carrying the basket.  The problem?  I was so damn weak, I was half useless.

The other kid, a boy named Brian, was clearly annoyed by how often I needed to stop and rest just to get the basket to where we needed to be prior to the assembly.

My physical weakness impeded our task and made it difficult on him.

I was weak, and I know why strength matters.

Emotionally, I used to be useless as well.  I’d cry at the drop of a hat.  I had a lot going on, and I didn’t really know how to deal with it.  Couple that with the BS about how “real men cry” and I saw no problem with unleashing the tears.

In high school, I’d long since stopped with that, but I was also vulnerable in other ways.  When other kids picked on me, I got pissed.  This, of course, encouraged them to keep it up.  It was a game for them.

Why I was that way is irrelevant.  I was.  As a result of that, I know how being weak impacts you and how weakness to be eradicated from the male half of our species.

Part of that is men telling other men that weakness isn’t something to be proud of.  It’s not something to be tolerated in other men.

If a woman wants to cry at the drop of a hat and do nothing but paint their toenails rather than train to push a car for half a mile, so be it.  Women have been that way for millennia and we’ve managed just fine.

Men, on the other hand, are expected to do and be more.  We tell people to “man up” because it’s a cue that you’re being a whiny little bitch and it’s time to knock that crap off.

Of course, the truth is that this isn’t about implying women can’t be strong.

The truth is that whiny little beta males like our poster boy aren’t really worried about whether or not women are insulted.  That’s just a convenient way to get feminists to help defend them.  The truth is that the poster boy just doesn’t like being told to man up.

He revels in his weakness and he doesn’t want to be held accountable for his failure to be a real man.  He wants to be celebrated for it.

Well, I won’t celebrate him, and neither should anyone else, male or female.  He’s willingly shirking the tools needed to fulfill the roles of men and letting those responsibilities fall on other men.

Pathetic.

Don’t be like the poster boy.  Man up!

