Some Changes On The Way

We’re about to make some changes here at By Spear and Axe.  Yes, again.  The first time it was just the name, which desperately needed to be changed, but now we’re looking at some serious overhauling.

Photo by Conal Gallagher
Photo by Conal Gallagher

When I started this site, it was with the idea that I would speak solely on masculinity and masculine issues.  I figured with feminists and their male bashing, I wouldn’t run out of anything to write about in the near future.

The thing is, the male bashing is repetitive, so the responses tend to be as well.  That makes things dry up on that front.

That made me want to shift to Plan “B”.  Unfortunately, I didn’t have one.

I knew that I didn’t want to make another Art of Manliness site.  Nothing against AoM, but they do their thing.  Brett McKay said in an interview that he kind of set the site up to be like a men’s magazine, only not telling you to buy $1,000 suits and crap.

In the process, the site has encouraged men to embrace things like shaving with double-edged safety razors and numerous other things, but it’s be interpreted differently.  I’ve seen several people lament the site telling them to do these things.

No, McKay isn’t directing anyone to shave a certain way or dress a certain way in order to be a real man.  Regardless, the perception exists on some scale at least.  I didn’t want that.

As a result, I didn’t want to get into those things.  I don’t want to imply that real men drive trucks or SUVs or motorcycles and nothing else, or that real men wear blue jeans and t-shirts.  That’s not what masculinity is about.

Now that I’ve established what I don’t want to do, it’s more important that I figure out what I want to do.

Yes, there will still be talk about fight training.  While not absolutely essential to be a man, I do think a man should know how to handle himself in a scrap, so I’ll keep doing that from time to time.

I’ll continue to talk about gaining strength, and may even have some workout posts from time to time.  Again, that’s important.

As for the rest, however?  That is the question.

Many of the rest of my posts have been more philosophical in nature, which is fine so far as that goes.  However, I’m not a philosopher and I have no interest in being one.

So what now?

Well, for one thing, I’ve opened this site up for comments.  Due to the nature of the topic being discussed, I could see it being a troll magnet, so I disabled comments.  That’s been reversed.  There will be no guarantee I’ll run a comment–particularly if you’re a troll–but I can handle disagreement.

As such, I’m open to suggestions.  What do you want to see here?  I’m not saying if you ask, I’ll do it, but I will consider it in the coming days.

Let me know, and let’s see what we can do.

Leave a Reply

